What to Do When You Have No Money for an Attorney?

Whether you’re in the middle of a divorce battle or just need to serve the papers to your spouse without an attorney, there are many different ways to serve the divorce papers. The most common method is publication. This involves placing a notice in the local newspaper for a specified length of time. You may be required to pay for the newspaper ad and must reimburse the other party for the cost. If you’re unable to find a newspaper ad, you can post your notice at the courthouse. 

(With over 10 years of experience practicing law in the Missoula area, Stephanie DeBoer offers her seasoned skills focused on providing compassionate assistance for families in need of legal help. Contact us to know more! Click here: Family Law Missoula)

 

Legal aid 

If you have no money for an attorney, what should you do when you are served with divorce papers? If you cannot afford an attorney, you may consider getting divorce counseling or mediation instead. Although these methods may not help your marriage, it is better than throwing good money after bad. If you can afford divorce mediation, your attorney will likely not require a retainer. You may need to hire an attorney for a few hours of work. 

Filing a divorce without an attorney 

Filing a divorce without an attorney is possible in some circumstances. Typically, you must pay a filing fee, but there are ways to get a fee waiver if you can prove extreme financial hardship. The Supreme Court can provide more information on fee waivers. You must also serve the divorce papers personally, or have someone deliver them to the Defendant. The divorce complaint is the primary document in this process. 

Alternative ways to serve divorce papers 

If you are short on cash and need to serve divorce papers without an attorney, one of the options is to hire a process server. The process server, who is usually a friend or family member, will need to fill out the proper paperwork and serve the papers to the spouse. The process server must follow the rules and regulations of your state. You will need to give your spouse at least 60 days’ notice to respond to the divorce papers. 

Filing a divorce in New York 

Using a professional divorce attorney is not necessary when filing for divorce in New York. However, filing with an attorney can still provide the best chance of obtaining a favorable result. In some cases, you can save money by using a self-service divorce pack, or filing for an uncontested divorce. To file for an uncontested divorce, you must first agree to put your case on the uncontested calendar. 

Filing a divorce in California 

When you are facing a dissolution of marriage, you might be wondering “how to file for divorce in California with no money for an attorney?” The first step is to ensure that your spouse has not used the children as poker chips. You also must serve an Order To Withhold Income For Child Support (OWI) on your spouse’s employer. The California Superior Court website provides information on how to do this.