Who Pays Attorney for Divorce? 

The cost of divorce can be a financial burden for many people. The fees can quickly add up, especially if one party has been the primary breadwinner for the family. During the divorce process, it is often necessary to hire a lawyer. The lawyer will help a client prepare legal documents, file them with the court, research and present their case in the courtroom, advocate for a client and prepare for hearings. 

(Searching for “Missoula attorney“? Visit our website!)

Fees for attorney services vary widely. Some attorneys charge by the hour while others charge a flat rate. The amount a lawyer charges depends on their experience and the complexity of the case. Typically, an experienced lawyer will have higher hourly rates than a new or junior associate lawyer. 

Some lawyers will include other professional costs in their fee structure, such as a child custody evaluation. The costs of these reports can be as high as $1,500 to $2,500. 

There are also filing and other forms fees. These will vary based on state but can range from $100 in Wyoming to $400 in Alabama. 

Your lawyer will likely spend time researching the facts of your case, including how much money each spouse has in the bank, stocks, investments, and other assets. They will then determine how much each party can claim as their separate property. 

Other costs will include forensic accountants, if you suspect your spouse is hiding assets or income. These will cost between $300 to $500 an hour, and the work done by these professionals will vary based on the complexity of the case. 

You can also opt for limited scope representation, where your lawyer will handle certain aspects of your case while you manage others. This will generally cost less than litigating a case in court, and you will avoid the emotional stress of the trial. 

A judge may decide to award attorney fees if they find that one spouse is acting in bad faith or has a history of not complying with court orders. The court will assess the financial circumstances of both parties and community property before making a decision as to whether attorney fees should be awarded or not. 

In most cases, a court will not make an award of attorney fees until the final day of the trial. This way, the spouses can present their case to the judge and ask for a fair share of fees. 

The law in Texas is that each spouse will pay their own attorney fees during a divorce, unless the court decides otherwise. If the spouses can’t agree on a fair split, they can request a temporary order requiring one or both to cover their attorney fees during the pendency of the case. This order is known as a Motion for Interim Attorney Fees and will be reviewed by the judge. 

It is a good idea to talk with a divorce attorney before filing any motions about who should pay attorney fees during your case. There are a few ways that a judge can award attorney fees, including when a spouse is acting in bad faith or has withdrawn funds from their bank accounts to delay proceedings.